Granny Gamers

Ok I’m not a grandma yet, but I guess I’m the right age for it.

I am however a gamer. Female gamers in their forties do exist. I’ve recently discovered the joy of MMO (massively multiplayer online)  games and I’m not the only granny gamer. How great it has been to meet other female, older players.

I guess I’ve been playing video games since the ZX Spectrum was invented. Then came the Commodore 64 and the Intellivision. As the years have passed, I’ve enjoyed having a games console around. It stopped after Final Fantasy 12. I’m a massive fan of the Final Fantasy Games from Square Enix. After 12, the PS3 was released and the series moved to that console and I guess that work and family just took over and I decided not to buy one. Haven’t gamed for years.

Since moving to Germany I’ve reunited with my friend from the 80s who also loves to game and he very kindly gave me his PS4. Then he told me about Final Fantasy 14. OMG!!! Addicted.com. Really. It’s great. It can be tricky. You have to clear dungeons and big bosses with groups of other players, and I guess that most are young men. I’m slow to react sometimes and have been thrown out of dungeons and raids, insulted, sworn at, told I’m stupid.

Not pleasant. I’m taking a break this week as it can be quite disheartening to be a bit rubbish. But it’s Final Fantasy and I lurrrrv it and I’m going to keep playing it.

I do have a very nerdy blog about Final Fantasy inside and it wants to come out. And it will. Today I wanted really to share a conversation I had at my friend’s house last night. We talked about how the 80s us would never have believed the games that are available to play at home now. The graphics, the speed, the music, I’m so grateful to him for bringing gaming back into my life.

He’s currently playing a game called Persona 5. Just WOW.

I took a photo here it is


It’s amazing! And he’s got a fancy tv with wall lights that change colour woo I didn’t even know that such things existed. It’s a bit different to PacMan isn’t it. I guess I need to play it, I’ve got Final Fantasy 15 waiting for me at the moment though. In June an extension for Final Fantasy 14 is released so I need to save my pennies for that one, now is probably the time to play 15.

How exciting!! And the 80s us really couldn’t have imagined how far technology and games would progress. I wonder what the future will bring…

 

 

Here are a couple of links to Amazon if you would like more info about FFXIV. First you need    Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (PS4) and then when you get to level 50 you can opt to add Heavensward for heaps more main quests, dungeons and job classes Square Enix FINAL FANTASY XIV: Heavensward PS4 – video games (PlayStation 4, RPG (Role-Playing Game), 23/06/2015, T (Teen), Add-on, Square Enix).

 

4 thoughts on “Granny Gamers

  1. This was great! I’ve heard some great things about the online FFXIV experience and FFXV is supposed to be a welcome return to form for the franchise. Persona 5 is also a really gorgeous game to look at and you friend’s TV somehow makes it look even more amazing! 😀

    Also, would you like to share your articles in our FB group? We’re a growing community of gaming bloggers and we’re always looking for more great writers to share their work and discuss all things gaming. Just search for “Game Bloggers United” on Facebook.

    Like

    1. Oh thank you very much yes I will look for you on Facebook, your page sounds super.
      FFXIV is just amazing. I guess I will be blogging about that a lot lol. I became addicted to FF when VII was new just wow. Ok hopefully see you on Facebook 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

